A few meters from Palazzo Comunale (Town hall) and the main street called Corso II Giugno, Church of the Cross is a real and probably unexpected surprise. The late-Renaissance sober façade contrasts with the opulent and magnificent Baroque style of the interior space, enriched by the painting known as “Sepoltura di Cristo” (Burial of Christ) by Federico Barocci....
Designed by the Duke’s architect Muzio Oddi, the Church was consecrated in 1608 by Confraternita del Sacramento e della Croce (Confraternity of Sacrament and Cross) that was committed in assisting the poor. The original idea was to create an oratory for the confraternity and, in fact, its structure reminds of a hall, rather than a church.
The marvellous stucco and gold decoration includes six lateral altars and the unusual coffered ceiling, a masterpiece with golden/bronze colour shades.
The valuable small church contains may important works of art, among them a real gem: the Altar Piece painted by Federico Barocci in 1592 representing the burial of Christ. The artist depicts Christ accompanied to the sepulchre by Joseph of Arimathea and Nicodemus, as an ideal prosecution of the “Deposition” previously painted for the Cathedral (Duomo) of Perugia. Mount Calvary and the Duke’s Palace of Urbino can be seen in the background.
Of the lateral altars, the one dedicated to Saint Barbara is worth mentioning. Two cannons frame the portrait of the patroness of bombardiers who had a training school near Rocca Roveresca.
A remarkable piece is the organ built by Gaetano Callido in 1775, which is still playing.
HTTP Error: HTTP/1.1 200 OKhttps://img.youtube.com/vi/YRc9sTI6B4Y/maxresdefault.jpg
MuseumDiocesan Art Gallery
MuseumMuseum of Sharecropping